top of page

Select leadership experience

Academic service

  • Senior Associate Dean, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts, Georgia Tech (2022--)

  • Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts Strategic Plan Co-Champion, Georgia Tech (2022--)

  • Associate Dean for Faculty Development, Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts, Georgia Tech (2021-2022)

  • Chair: School of Literature, Media, and Communication, Georgia Tech (2012-2021)

  • Chair: Search Committee for Chair, School of Public Policy, Georgia Tech (2020; 2014)

  • Chair: Search Committee for Chair, School of Modern Languages, Georgia Tech (2015)

  • Chair: Search Committee for Director of Human Resources, Ivan Allen College (2022)

  • Provost's Advisory Committee on Academic Scheduling (2023--)

  • Provost's Advisory Committee for Collaborative on Academic Careers in Higher Education (COACHE)

  • Ivan Allen Jr. Prize for Social Courage Selection Committee, Georgia Tech (2022--)

  • Arts Square Coordinating Group, Georgia Tech (2022--)

  • HBCU/MSI Research Collaboration Initiative, Georgia Tech (2022--)

  • Ivan Allen College Chief Administrative Officer, Search Committee (2021)

  • Vice Provost for Faculty, Search Committee (2021)

  • Institute Strategic Plan Working Group, Georgia Tech (2019-2021)

  • Institute Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council (2020--)

  • Arts@Tech Strategic Planning Steering Committee (2020--)

  • Campus Culture Action Team, Georgia Tech

  • Georgia Tech Inclusive Leaders Academy

  • Advisory committee: Georgia Tech Emerging Leaders Program

  • Steering committee: Transformative Narratives, Georgia Tech

  • Selection committee: Diversity Fellows, Georgia Tech

  • Living Building Project Academic & Research Council, Georgia Tech & Kendeda Foundation

  • Chair: Department of English, Western Michigan U

  • Chair: University Graduate Faculty, U Northern Iowa

  • University Program Review Committee, U Northern Iowa

  • Provost's International Task Force, U Northern Iowa 

  • Co-Chair: Interinstitutional Task Force on Scholarly Communication, Iowa Board of Regents 

  • Coordinator of Graduate Programs: Department of English, U Northern Iowa 


Service to the discipline

  • Secretary: Georgia Medieval Group (2023-2025)

  • President: International Society for the Study of Medievalism (2009-2020)

  • Advisory board member: Reinterpreting the Middle Ages (Brepols Publishers; 2020--)

  • Advisory board member: Bulletin of the the Intl. Association for Robin Hood Studies (2016--)

  • Editorial board member: Medieval Media Studies (ARC Humanities Press, 2015-2019)

  • Co-editor: The Year's Work in Medievalism (2013-2018); Advisory Board Member (2018--)

  • Advisory Board Member: Arthuriana: The Journal of the Intl. Arthurian Society – American Branch (2009--)

  • Founding Editor: Medievally Speaking (2009--)

  • Advisory Board Member: Ritus et Artes: Traditions and Transformations (Brepols Publishers, Belgium; Centre for the Study of the Cultural Heritage of Medieval Rituals, U of Copenhagen, Denmark (2007--)

  • Founding Editor: UNIversitas: The University of Northern Iowa Journal of Research, Scholarship, and Creative Activity (2005-07)

  • Advisory Board Member & Editor of sub-section “Medievalism/Mittelalter-Rezeption:” Perspicuitas: Internet Periodicum für mediävistische Sprach-, Literatur-, und Kulturwissenschaft (U of Duisburg-Essen, Germany; 2003--)

  • Advisory Board Member: Making the Middle Ages (Brepols Publishers, Belgium; U of Sydney Centre for Medieval Studies; 1999--)

  • Advisory Board Member: Studies in Medievalism (Boydell & Brewer Publishers, Cambridge, UK, 1998--)

  • Founder and co-editor (with Peter Paul Schnierer and Thomas Rommel): Prolepsis: The Heidelberg Review of English Studies (1997-2014)

  • Founding Editor: Disputatio (Northwestern UP [1996-99]; Wipf & Stock [2002]; Brepols Publishers, Belgium [2003-10])

Honors & awards

  • “Director’s Visiting Scholar” (Dumbarton Oaks Research Library / Harvard U, 2018)

  • “Johann von Spix International Visiting Professorship” (U of Bamberg, 2017)

  • “Dr. Phillip Hubbard Award for Outstanding Educator” (N Iowa, 2006)

  • “Faculty Excellence Award,” College of Humanities & Fine Arts (N Iowa, 2004)

  • “University Distinguished Scholar Award” (N Iowa, 2003)

  • “Regents Award for Faculty Excellence,” Iowa State Board of Regents (2002)

  • “Donald N. McKay Faculty Research Award” (N Iowa, 2001)

  • “Outstanding Teaching Award,” College of Humanities & Fine Arts (N Iowa, 1995)

  • “English Department Professor of the Year,” Sigma Tau Delta (N Iowa, 1993)

  • “Dr. K. Sailer Award for Outstanding Work in English Studies” (U of Regensburg, 1991)

bottom of page